Following in the footsteps of unflinching musicians and writers such as the Fall, Television Personalities, and Irvine Welsh, South London’s bracing post-punk outfit Shame features vocalist Charlie Steen, guitarists Sean Coyle-Smith and Eddie Green, bassist Josh Finerty, and drummer Charlie Forbes. The quintet met in school and formed Shame in 2014 while still in their teens. A family connection led them to practice at the Queen’s Head, a gritty Brixton pub that was also home to Fat White Family. Gigs with that band, the Garden, and Slaves led to an appearance at 2016’s Pitchfork Music Festival Paris; later that year, Shame released their debut single “The Lick/Gold Hole” on Fnord Communications. In 2017, the band signed with Dead Oceans and released the singles “Tasteless,” “Concrete,” and “Visa Vulture,” a commentary on Prime Minister Theresa May’s stance on immigration. That year, Shame recorded their debut album, Songs of Praise, at Wales’ Rockfield Studios; the album arrived in early 2018.