Slow Drift

Slow Drift was formed across the Atlantic Ocean by Oxford-based multi-instrumentalist and producer James Askwith and Canadian singer-songwriter Jenn Steeves. The project emerged from an exchange of audio files during lockdown – James would send electronic instrumental tracks to Jenn, who then wrote lyrics and recorded vocals. Built around James’ synth-based soundscapes and Jenn’s vocal melodies, Slow Drift is a delicate blend of electronica and synth pop, drawing on influences like The xx, Black Marble, Burial, Radiohead & Wolf Alice. The duo have been featured on BBC Music Introducing, BBC Radio 6, and their debut single ‘Oblivion’ was selected as #3 in the top 30 Oxford songs of 2021 by Nightshift Magazine.